Knitty Keen

Knitting, knitting, and some more knitting

Second Sock Syndrome and a WIP March 27, 2013

Black Magic Sock

 

This is the first Great Adirondack Yarn Co Caribou sock.  It’s just a simple stockinette sock with a heel flap.  I finished it last week but couldn’t muster the energy to cast on for its mate.  I decided to succumb to SSS (second sock syndrome) and do something else until I cast on for the second one.  After surfing through Ravelry for an hour last Friday night, I settled on Saroyan with the Madelinetosh Pashmina that I bought at Knitty City.

Golden Hickory Leaves

 

The pattern is written for worsted weight yarn and the Pashmina is sport weight.  I’m still using the US Size 8 (5.0mm) needles that the pattern calls for but I did 10 increase repeats to the 6 as written and will probably end up with about 14 repeats in the straight section.  I could have done a few more increase repeats, but I’d like to have a little bit of yarn left over for another project that is in the works.  I’m having the worst time memorizing the chart for the leaf pattern on the one side so it’s not mindless knitting since I have to pay attention to where I am in the chart.  I’ll probably cast on for the second Black Magic sock tonight so I can have something that I can just whip out and work on when I have a spare moment as opposed to having dedicated time to work on Saroyan.

In other WIP news, my green sweater has stalled.  I was all gung-ho about trying to get it finished in enough time to wear on my New York trip but when I realized that just wasn’t going to happen, I lost all my steam to finish it.  I’m planning on making some time this coming week to get the sleeves done so I can finish the body of the sweater.  The weather will be changing soon and I’d like to have it done to wear this spring while it’s still too cold to wear just a tee shirt but not cold enough for my coat.

 

One Response to “Second Sock Syndrome and a WIP”

  1. stellasox Says:

    I too have fallen victim to the oh-so-tragic effects of SSS. I hate it when that happens! I have one languishing right this very moment in my project bag, because I just can’t motivate myself to finish. Sigh. Eventually I will get there, and hopefully you will too. We should arrange a Second Sock KAL to motivate ourselves.


Leave a Reply

