Knitty Keen

Knitting, knitting, and some more knitting

Needles December 26, 2012

DSCF2359

I made my first call to Knitpicks customer service today for my bent and cracked needle.  You can definitely see the bend in the needle, but I couldn’t get a shot of the hairline crack.  The customer service representative I spoke to sounded a little dubious that the needle had bent and cracked in regular use but they are going to send me a replacement needle.  I’m hoping I can loosen my grip a bit so this doesn’t happen again but my Addi needles all have similar bends in them so I’m not too hopeful.

I love the pointy tips on the Knitpicks needles, so much nicer for increasing and lace work than the blunter Addi needle tips.  I dread doing the thumb gussets on the Joe Schmoe Fingerless Mitts because a M1L is doable, but a M1R is a massive PITA with a blunt tip needle and there are ten of those suckers.  I have a 36″ size 1.5 Addi lace needle but it’s too grippy and I don’t like the way the brass smells when I’m using it.

As long as I’m griping about Addis, I will also add that I hate their new cables.  The nicest thing about Addi needles was the gold cable.  Now they all seem to have monofilament cables and they just aren’t as supple as the old gold cables, another thing the Knitpicks needle has going for it.  For sock yarn, I have two hanks of Colinette Jitterbug, a hank of Madeline Tosh and one of Malabrigo in my stash to be used.  I’ll be using my Addi size 2.5’s for all but the Malabrigo, so I don’t have to worry about the Knitpicks needles for a bit.  I want to replace my 40″ Addi sock needles with Knitpicks needles but I’ll have to wait and see how this second needle holds up before I make a decision.

 

Leave a Reply

